The rain.

Here in Houston, we don’t get much of a Fall.  Two days ago, it was 80 degrees.  Yesterday we had a “cold front” come in, so it rained.  All day.  That’s pretty much our fall.  Rain.  And winter, come to think of it.

photoAnyway, yesterday Claire had two Halloween parties, so she was all dressed up in her Tinkerbell costume.  After her last party at dance class, I tried to change her into regular clothes, but she acted like I was pouring acid all over her body do I just left it.  Sure, it’s hard to buckle her seatbelt with all that tule, but this will all be over Saturday night.

Then I realized that we needed to go to the store.  We were out of milk, and for those of you with small kids, that’s the equivalent of running out of….I don’t know.  Medicine?  Diapers?  Wine?

I decided to go to the “Ghetto” Walmart (it’s just a Neighborhood Market, not the full Walmart), because it’s right around the corner from our house.  It was raining off and on, but I thought we could run in and get out before the real rain started.  Of course, I didn’t anticipate how many people had the same idea as me.  Even the self checkout lanes were long.

While in line, we heard the rain pounding on the ceiling.  Well, there goes my idea to get to the car before it starts to rain.  We checked out, and walked toward the door.

It was pouring.  I could barely see the cars in the parking lot.  So, like three other people, we decided to wait by the door to see if it slowed down.  Claire was totally fine with that idea; she does not like to walk in the rain unless she’s wearing her rain boots and not much else.  She hates to get her clothes wet.

I crouched beside her and we talked about what she did in school that day, how we were going to go Trick-or-Treating this weekend, about the rain.  Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a woman watching us, but I didn’t think much of it.  I picked Claire up as the woman stepped closer to us.

“Happy Halloween, Mom.”  She said, and handed me something.

It was a dollar.  She had given me a dollar.  I looked at my clothes.  Did I look homeless?  Did I look like I NEEDED that dollar?  I was so shocked, I think I barely muttered a “Thank you” and ran out to our car.

Why in the world am I looking for a job?  I’ll just dress Homeslice up in her fairy costume and hang out at the local Walmart.  We’ll make a killing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

