Take eleventy and one.

I’ve started a new post eleventy times, and they all end up the same:

“Wah, I’m bored.  I hate my job.  My house is a diaster zone.  We have too much shit.  I want to move. ”

And I know what you’re thinking: get a new job, clean up your house, have a garage sale and quit yer bitching (well, that’s how you’d say it if you lived in Texas like me). 

I will, I will, I will and NO you can’t make me.

But it’s true.  I need to quit bitching.  I need to clean my house and not spend all night after Claire goes to bed in the garage, watching the Olympics.  I need to get rid of a lot of things in our house that we don’t use and I think once I declutter the house, I’ll be better equipted to declutter my head.

It’s a little overwhelming, especially since it doesn’t look like I’ll be getting any help.  Unless I nag and beg and barter.  And I just won’t do that. 

So tell me, what are your best organizing tricks?  How do I scale down the amount of useless shit that keeps piling up?  Where should I start?

Help me!

4 Comments

Filed under Random thoughts

4 responses to “Take eleventy and one.

  1. Amanda Frazier

    Well i wish i could give you some tips but not sure. But one thing i can offer is to come over and help you. Would love to come and help you just let me know. The guys can hang out and me and you could takle some stuff down for you.

    Just let me know sweetie..
    Amanda

  2. ash

    i have this same post like a dozen times on my personal blog. i love reading real simple for tips. usually, i just try to start small. one closet at a time. i make piles: (1) trash (2) donate with the goal of getting rid of everything you can. the rest gets organized immediately. i tackled two closets last weekend and i’m doing two more this weekend. then i’ll work my way through the rooms…

  3. I don’t have any really useful tips/advice. I just wanted to let you know that I’m commenting on your blog as I sit on the couch watching the Olympics. I feel your pain.

    Must. Stop. Watching.

  4. Oh sister I’m with you. It piles up quick, doesn’t it? I try to do Flylady, even though the overwhelming positivity can irk me…(I’m a snarky one.) http://www.flylady.net. I do love her motto: Progress not Perfection. I can get behind that. She espouses much of what Ash says above but breaks it into routines like 27 Fling Boogies and Room Rescues. I will say, when I do it, my house is quite different.:) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

