Graduation…ramblings

“And so we talked all night about the rest of our lives
Where we’re gonna be when we turn 25
I keep thinking times will never change
Keep on thinking things will always be the same
But when we leave this year we won’t be coming back
No more hanging out cause we’re on a different track”

I heard this song on a morning show this morning. They were talking about how it’s almost time for high school graduations and all the songs about it. It came out right after my high school graduation and I swore Vitamin C was singing to us.
But it’s true, you know? Where did you think you were going to be when you turned *gasp* 25? I never thought I’d be living in Oklahoma, pregnant. That is fo’ so’.
And you don’t think that anything’s going to change. You think that the people that were your best friends in high school will stay your best friends forever. Ugh. So naïve. J and I went to a wine festival and saw a girl I went to high school with. We didn’t hang out that much, but I knew her because she was best friends with one of my best friends, X. She actually works for this X’s family’s winery now. Anyway, I really thought X and I would be “friends forever.” But then I went to college, and she went to college and made new friends. It was hard for me to not be friends with her anymore. She was a huge part of my life and, as anyone who knows her will attest to, very influential. I actually saw her a few weeks before my bachelorette party and we talked for a while. She told me about the new boy she was dating (who she ended up marrying), and got her information to get my MOH to invite her to the bachelorette party. Abby tried, but could never get a hold of her. I haven’t spoken to her since.
Anyway, the point is that when I was 18, graduating high school, I really thought everything would stay the same. And, even though I haven’t moved far from where I went to high school, and not many people did either, I just don’t talk to many people anymore.
J’s 10 year reunion is in a few weeks. He still hangs out with a lot of people he went to high school with, although only one or two actually graduated in 1998 with him. And even though most of “the guys” went to high school with him, and I’ve heard a lot of stories from high school, I’m looking forward to going. Now, if only he could get a job and I could lose 20 lbs. Then, we’ll really take that reunion by storm!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

